Duronto beat Rangpur in BPL

Mohit Singh, February 4 2013,
Rajshahi chase down 164 with consummate ease to register another win.
Tamim Iqbal helped Duronto win their BPL game
Tamim Iqbal helped Duronto win their BPL game
In the first match of BPL today, the Duronto Rajshahi completed a comfortable victory over the Rangpur Riders. The venue chosen for the match was Mirpur.

The Riders got off to a fine start, as their inform opener Shamsur Rahman hit yet another half century. He made 68 off 57 balls before getting runout. Junaid Siddique and Nasir Hossain also played well for their thirties.

The Riders managed a competitive 163 in the end, as Cameron Borgas and Danza Hyatt played good cameos.

Monir Hossain and Naeem Islam jnr bowled well for the Rajshahi, Hossain grabbing a wicket as well.

All the Riders advantage was nullified, since both the Rajshahi openers came good at the perfect time. Tamim Iqbal and Charles Coventry were involved in a game changing, 95 run partnership at the top.

Iqbal scored exactly 50 off just 36 balls, and Coventry managed 47 off 35 balls. Later Jahurul Islam and Sean Ervine finished the game without any further hiccups, with an over to spare.

Abdur Razzak and Kevin O'Brien were the pick of the bowlers for the Riders.

In the second game today, the Barisal Burners secured a thumping win over the Khulna Royal Bengals. This match was also played in Mirpur.

Batting first, the Bengals put up 145 on the board, thanks mainly to their openers, Nazimuddin and Shahriar Nafees. Nafees top-scored with 66 off only 50 balls. The rest of the batting lineup failed alarmingly.

Azhar Mahmood and Alok Kapali bowled brilliantly for the Burners, taking 5 wickets in between them.

The Burners lost two early wickets, but Brad Hodge and Azhar Mahmood made sure that the fate of the match was sealed, with their 93-run stand. Hodge scored 63 off 47 balls, while Mahmood remained unbeaten, thumping 52 off just 33 balls.

Duronto Rajshahi vs Rangpur Riders

Date: Monday, 4 Feb 2013
Time: 09:30 ( GMT )
Competition: Bangladesh Premier League
Live/Repeat: Live
Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Related Articles