Sylhet Royals complete sixth win in Bangladesh Premier League

Anand Rane, February 1 2013,
Royals defeat Rangpur Riders to almost seal their semi-final berth.
Dwayne Smith's fine all-round performance helped Royals win
Dwayne Smith's fine all-round performance helped Royals win
Related Content:
Bangladesh Premier League
Related Articles: Sylhet Royals, Rangpur Riders
In the first contest in BPL today, the Sylhet Royals completed their sixth win, defeating the Rangpur Riders. The match was hosted in Chittagong.

The Rangpur Riders started off well, but lack of runs from the middle and lower order meant that they were bowled out on 122.

Openers, Shamsur Rahman and Danza Hyatt played well for the Riders. Rahman was the top scorer, getting 52 off 46 balls. Cameron Borgas also chipped in with his 28. Rest of the batting failed miserably.

Dirk Nannes, Dwayne Smith, and Sohag Gazi were the best bowlers for Royals, grabbing seven wickets in between them.

For the Royals, Dwayne Smith was good at the top with his 31 off 21 balls. But it was Nazmul Hossain Milon, who stole the show with his match finishing knock of 45 off 29 balls.

Nasir Hossain was the pick of the bowlers, for the Riders, but they could not prevent the Royals from registering their sixth win of the tournament.

In the second match, the Barisal Burners won their first match after three straight losses. They secured victory against the Chittagong Kings. This match was played at the same venue.

In this high-scoring contest, the Barisal Burners, batting first, piled up 182 runs on the board. All the batsmen contributed, with Sabbir Rahman the top-scoring with 40. Only Joe Denly got out cheaply on 5.

Rubel Hossain and Kevin Cooper bowled well for the Kings.

For the Kings, Brendan Taylor, Ryan Ten Doeschate and Mahmudullah played magnificently, but the target proved to be 6 runs too high for them.

Mahmudullah and Taylor were looking all set to knock off the target, but just could not stay at the crease, at the crucial moment. And, thus the Kings only lost by 6 runs in the end.

Elias Sunny bowled superbly for the Burners, grabbing 3 wickets and giving away only 24 runs in his full quota.

Barisal Burners vs Chittagong Kings

Date: Thursday, 31 Jan 2013
Time: 12:00 ( GMT )
Competition: Bangladesh Premier League
Live/Repeat: Live
Venue: MA Aziz Stadium, Chittagong

Related Articles