Second first-class tournament in Bangladesh to start on Thursday

Zubin Daver, December 31 2012,
The second first-class tournament in Bangladesh is going to kick off on Thursday.
Bangladeshi cricketers have more first class cricket to play
Bangladeshi cricketers have more first class cricket to play
Related Articles: Bangladesh, Shakib al Hasan
It is hoped that the launch of this tournament will take Bangladesh’s cricket a step toward the right direction. With a focus of adding more weight to the longer-version cricket of the country, the Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) has been started as a franchise-based provincial competition.

In Mirpur’s Shere Bangla National Stadium, Prime Bank South Zone will play against Walton Central Zone. Another match will be held on in Bogra’s Shaheed Chandu Stadium where BCB North Zone will take on Islami Bank East Zone. The Central Zone players are from Dhaka Division and Dhaka Metropolis, East’s players are from Chittagong Division and Sylhet, South has players from Barisal Division and Khulna Division, while North’s players are from Rangpur and Rajshahi.

The chairman of the BCB’s tournament committee Naimur Rahman hoped that this competition would be the prime first-class tournament of the country. The players for this tournament have been chosen from those who performed in the National Cricket League (NCL) of this season. For this reason, Naimur hoped that the standard of this tournament would be higher and the level of competition would be better. He said that cricket would not develop without making the first-class structure stronger.

The BCB planned for this tournament only after the NCL failed to get enough franchises due to its changed make-up earlier this year. As a result, this new tournament came into being while the NCL continued in the previous format. Three franchises out of four got sponsors but the North Zone was yet to get a sponsor. However, the BCB is hopeful that someone will sponsor it at the time of the tournament.

It will be played in a single league format where every team will play three matches each. The final will be played after the BPL. It will be played with pink ball under lights.

Related Articles