Asia Cup 2012 Preview: India v Bangladesh

Mohit Singh, March 15 2012,
India will look to make it two wins in two games as they take on Bangladesh at Mirpur.
Will hope to find form
Will hope to find form
Related Articles: India, Bangladesh, MS Dhoni
The action in Asia Cup continues as the tournament’s fourth match will feature defending champions India and the hosts Bangladesh. The match, to be played on the weekly public holiday of Friday, expects to draw a substantial crowd to Mirpur.

India delivered a starkly contrasting performance from their Australian tour misery, and won their opening match against Sri Lanka by 50 runs. Their success was built around a high total thanks to centuries from Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli.

The two featured in a double-century partnership and will look to continue doing well.

The question still remains over Sachin Tendulkar’s 100th century and he may not get an easier bowling attack to score it against than Bangladesh.

Indian bowlers also did their job creditably with Irfan Pathan and Ravi Ashwin picking up crucial wickets as the final Powerplay finally titled the balance in India’s favor. Vinay Kumar also picked up wickets at the end to boost his confidence. Praveen Kumar will need to do better than his performance on Tuesday as he was taken for plenty of runs.

The home side lost their opening match against Pakistan by 21 runs, but not before giving them a real tough fight all the way till the end. Bangladesh will perhaps rue the opportunities in the match where they slipped away slightly that proved decisive in the end. They will need to look at their death bowling options as Pakistan, from 198-7, were able to reach 262 primarily due to Umar Gul’s career-best.

Shakib Al Hassan continues to be the lone battler as his all-round performance kept the home team’s hopes alive. He was the last man out for 62.

The match starts at 2.00pm local time. Despite the matches being day/night fixtures, the commonly-noticed dew factor has not been a major factor in the current tournament as the first two matches were won by teams batting first.

Related Articles